That Magical Time is Upon Us.

Yes that’s right, pitchers and catchers are in the midst of reporting and soon, the 2011 season will be in full swing. Whatever problems you or I have can be solved by the crack of one bat or the break on one ball.

I’m well aware of the situation surrounding Albert Pujols, but just the fact that the season has begun is good enough for me. As any Cardinals fan does, I would love to see Pujols in cardinal red for his entire career, and I hope a deal can be struck. I don’t believe it will get done in the next twelve hours, but as tomorrow happens to be my birthday, it would be a nice present.

The Pujols deal could end up hampering the Cards for years if they don’t negotiate correctly, due to his age and inevitable decline. No matter how much of a homer you are, you have to admit that Pujols will not continue at his current rate of production. The ideal situation would be an 10 year deal that pays him $30 million through the 2016 season, and then for the last 4 years, the deal must be incentive-laden, with $12-15 million guaranteed and the rest made up in performance incentives. Pujols won’t make most, if any of the incentives, so the Cards wouldn’t hurt too much financially.

A deal must be struck because the Cards wont be able to get his value in prospects in a trade mid-season, even if any trade was proposed and allowed by the man himself. Losing Pujols would hurt the Cardinals organization, not only through the loss of their best player, but through the loss of respect of fans,

All these thoughts dwell heavy in my mind, but I do believe the Cards will pull through and get it done. Pujols is the face of the franchise, and I think the Cardinals will have to lay a lot down. While they will lay a lot down, I do expect Pujols to make it easier on the Cards and help get a deal done.

The Pujols deal is very important, but right now, it is time to bask in the glory of baseball.

Leave a comment